Total newbie question (-> and =>)

JonB

This is going to sound terrible but I've been coding a PHP website for over a year but my understanding of some of the basics is, well, patchy (due to being self taught).

I've managed to get by just fine without ever using -> or => but in trying to tweak a phpbb forum I'm coming across both a LOT.

Could someone please explain what the two do and why I should be using them instead of other alternatives?

Thanks!

=> is comparison it means:

- equal to or greater than

It is almost like >

so

$i = 1;

if($i => 1)  returns true since $i is equal to one

if($i > 1) returns false since $i is not greater than one

-----------------------------------------------------

-> is for object orientated programming, so if you have ever programmed in java they use the period to go to methods within a class, well -> means the same thing.

Also Here is an example of ->

<?php
class A
{
    function foo()
    {
        if (isset($this)) {
            echo '$this is defined (';
            echo get_class($this);
            echo ")\n";
        } else {
            echo "\$this is not defined.\n";
        }
    }
}

class B
{
    function bar()
    {
        A::foo();
    }
}

$a = new A();
$a->foo();
A::foo();
$b = new B();
$b->bar();
B::bar();
?> 

and you can read this also

http://w3schools.com/php/php_operators.asp

<= is less than or equal to 5<=8 returns true 

-> is used with classes, example below

<?php
class myclass() {
  function foo($name) {
    echo 'My name is ' . $name;
  }
}

$thisclass = new myclass();
$thisclass->foo('Wolphie');
?>

The ouput of the above would be "My name is Wolphie"

=> is used to assign keys in array, example below

<?php
$array = array("name" => "Wolphie", 2 => "Two");
echo $array['name'];
echo '<br />';
echo $array[2];
?>

The above output would be:

Wolphie

Cheers.

With => I was thinking more along the lines of this code snippet