Realtime Form Validation

rastacre

Hi all,

I'm new to php and webdev in general, so i'm trying many things on my own which usually work but this time i'm completely stuck...

Ok i made a script that automatically generates a form to add/upate/delete stuff from a database. the db have various tables, so the script automatically generates the form pulling the relevant fields from the table that the user chooses.

I implemented the form validation via php so it simply call the validation via the action attribute of the form. So far so good.

Now I wanted to try to implement a realtime validation:

let's say that i have a table called "category" where of course i have cat_id and cat_name

let's say i want to add a new value to such table. The form script generates the form requiring just the name of a new category.

So at this point if i input an existing name and send the form, the validation script will redraw the form and show an error by looking for the name value in the appropriate table.

But what I'm aiming to is to also implement a realtime validation that will check the user input and show the error before the form is sent.

I would just like to know if this is possible, and what kind of approach shud be taken.

I was thinking about pulling the values from the table at form generation, and then use a js function to compare the user input (onkeyup i think) against the values (maybe stored in an array) previously pulled.

In this regard is there a way to pass variable data from a php script to a js script?

Thanks in advance

onkeyup would be a poor choice for performing form validations. it would be too intensive and be difficult to prevent false-positive. Ex: there is an existing field called 'name' and the user tries to create a new field called 'name_suffix'. As soon as the user enteres 'name' it would generate an error and most likely prevent the user from contuniuing. onchange would be a much better choice.