Modifying/Adding to a User/Pass authentication?

WillJohnson1234

Dear PHP Experts,

I am relatively new to PHP/MySQL so I’ll do my best to explain my question. Hopefully it makes sense to you:)

I am modifying a simple PHP/MySQL login script where users register with my site giving their name, email address and a choice of three different options from a drop down menu (option select).

For example the registration page can be seen here

www.willjohnson.ca/febvocalped/register.php

Login is at

www.willjohnson.ca/febvocalped/index.html (on the left)

Everything works perfectly thus far. The connection to the database is perfect and all the fields are correctly deposited into my database.

What I’m wondering is if someone can help me with the login page. After a student has registered with my site, the can then navigate back to the index page and log in to my site. This login is successful and it takes the user to a page called ‘private1.php’. A PHP session is started allowing the user to enter these ‘private’ pages.

The thing I would like to customize is that depending on the three options when they register, after logging in they are taken to their respective areas.

For example: the drop down selection box designates Programs of Study “BMUS, MASTERS or DMA”

So when a user enters their login information, a MySQL query is generated to verify the username, and password AND selects this new program field. Upon querying the database successfully, if the users has “BMUS” as a program, that user is directed towards the ‘private1.php’ page. If they had selected “MASTERS”, they would go to ‘private2.php’. If they had selected “DMA”, they would go to ‘private3.php’.

My question is:

How can I add an additional ‘if statement’ to this function (see code below) to specifically navigate the user to his/her appropriate private page?

Semantically (in addition to the user and pass authentication), I think it would be something like: