javascript in ajax opened url

esscher

I am a ajax newbie so be kind please!

I'm not sure if my title made sense, but I'll try to be clear about my question.

Why does the javascript that is in the page that I have requested from xmlHTTPRequest.open not get interpreted/read?

When I bring back the page, nothing that is in

<script language="javascript"></script> gets printed to the screen.

Does that make sense?

Esscher

Yes, that is what I have found out on other forums as well.  Its a bummer, because if it were more of a simple matter, I think that ajax would be many times more powerful.  Because of this, I cannot figure out how to keep multiple submit operations on the same page.  ie, submit to search a database and populated a form based on that search, and submit that form to be inserted into a database, all on one page (no reloads).

It looks like I may have to look to adobes flex 2 to accomplish this.

any other ideas?

Esscher

what exactly are you saying you're trying to do?

1) ajax is called with query vars

2) php does db query

3) ajax recieves return values

4) form fields are populated with values

5) you want the form to be submitted back through ajax and stored in some db table?

how come step #5 can't be done in step #2?  You're getting the info that #5 is supposed to storing, so why not do step #5 in #2? Just pass an extra query var flag in #1 to signify that #2 is to retrieve the data, store the data in a different table/format and then return back through ajax.

mainewoods,

i'm not sure what you mean by "pass an extra query var flag"

Here is the url http://66.87.141.7/phytobase/p2/demo_add_plant-post.phP to the application I'm building.

I think it may be easier to show you than to explain it.

First thing you do is type in the name of a plant (anything will do for now)

Secondly, you will be given a form to enter attributes about the plant

Thirdly, you submit this info to the database