Frames help

Drezard

I've been trying to work out the HTML/CSS for a few hours now but, I cant seem to get it right. I just want to split an HTML page into two distinct parts using frames. except, i don't want the giant frame, i just want a table border. What would be the HTML/CSS for this? I have tried using div layers, frames and other things but, I cant seem to get it right. Any help please?

Dan

I'm just learning CSS myself but I've noticed that one of the more popular methods of arranging information on a page is with tables and even tables inside tables. I've seen some nice looking sites done this way. I've been experimenting with it while I learn CSS. As I understand tho, we need to learn how to affectively use DIVs.

Yes and no. I recommend separating sites into 3 different things: content (HTML/XHTML), markup/design (CSS), and function (javascript). Each of these things should be in their own pages, and other than references to the external pages that the javascript and css are saved in, you shouldn't see any css or javascript references at all in the content page.

So why do I say yes and no? Well when you speak of divs, you are probably thinking of using divs and CSS vs. tables. I think that using divs and css is definitely better than tables. However, people get hooked on DIVS and end up with what is known as 'divitis' - an overuse of divs. They end up using divs (and usually P's) for absolutely everything. This, while better than tables, is still not the greatest coding.

Semantic coding is the best - that is to say using tags that match the content that are contained in them. Here is a list of the various XHTML tags:

http://www.devguru.com/technologies/xhtml/index.asp