Show content with HTML menu

guillermo15

Hi !

I'm a newbie to PHP... did a few tutorials and tested many exemples!

I've searched many forums (including this one) and can't seem to get it right ! I'm trying to put a name on my query...

I have an index.php that 'include' parts of my page (header, footer, etc.) and an html menu made of <li> also included in this page. Looks like this :

<?php

$filename = "home";

include("header.php");

include ("menu.php");

include ("content"); // relative to the page

include ("footer.php");

?>

My content (a central <div> in the site) is called with URLs (<a>) in this menu. However, I'm trying to have a single PHP page and have my current menu controlling the central content. I have tried the 'case' option but it's not "pretty" enought. I want to keep my <li> menu (worked so hard on the CSS...)

As you can see, I have given a variable name to each page (here $filename = "home"; ) and copied this code to every page (about 20 pages) giving a new variable name for each. I finally built a "content" page that include all possible contents with "if $filename echo 'html content'".

Also, my menu is filled with 'if's else's' that change the (<li>) look. Exemple :

if($filename =="home")

/{

echo "<li><a href=index.php'><font color='#007F55'>Home</font></a></li>";

}

else {

echo "<li><a href='index.php'>Home</a></li>";

}/

So my site looks like :

20 php pages including a content.php that calls with if $filename is... a //<div>// html page with proper content.

My question :   Now I want to have a single index.php page and mutliple content page (with only the <div>) that will be called by my <li> menu.

Can somone point me in the right direction ?

i'm a little lost, but hey, what's new!

Are you wanting one page does all?

If so you've basically got two options, but both work the same way in the end.