Help determining valid values in a booking form

jacomus

I am in the process of developing a webpage for bookings:

What I have so far is a page which determines booking dates. There are drop down menus on the HTML page which determine the month and the day of the start of the booking period, and a secondary set of drop down menus which determine the end of the booking period. The PHP page then displays a confirmation of the booking. Currently it is fairly basic as I just began development on the pages.

What I need to know is how to send out an error if the booking period exceeds a certain time frame, such as 10 days.

I.E. from March 15th until March 24th would be a valid date as it would fall within a 10 day period, but March 15th until March 26th would return an error. What I need to know is how to do this? I am fairly new to PHP, but have been learning the basics fairly quickly, I have been unable to locate a tutorial on these sorts of things. I would be very appreciative of any help that can be given.

The online PHP manual if full of fun.  Here is a link to the date functions...

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ref.datetime.php

I would approach this by

1) convert each date strings to epoc (unix timestamp)

2) subtract one from the other and divide by 86400 (seconds in a day)

3) if > 10 error

Assumption:  The date string you are using can be parsed by strtotime().  See http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.strtotime.php

$startEpoc = strtotime($yourStartDate);
$endEpoc = strtotime($yourEndDate);
$daySpan = ($endEpoc - $startEpoc)/86400;
if ($daySpan > 10) {
  //deal with the error
}

Thanks, I will make an attempt at that. It seems a little more advanced than stuff I have done in PHP so far. What my initial plan to do was to assign values to each month based on how long each month is, I got stuck early on here. When subtracting the start of the booking period from the end booking date, I simply just got the value of the end booking date.