question involving include command?

Hillary

i have a question about include command. i am new to all this PHP stuff, i am taking a class at school that i am doing alright in but sometimes i just need guidance if you know what i mean. anyway, im wondering how i can include only part of a file. i have a file dedicated to functions and i only need to use 3 of the functions on my new page. how would i do that? but i do not enjoy retyping the same thing all the time... ughh so frustrating, i wish i knew more!!! thanks for your help!!

contents of functions.php file

<?php

function do_something() {

//do something usful

}

function do_something_else() {

//do something else usful

}

function hello_world() {

echo "Hello World";

}

?>

--------------------------------------------------

contents of index.php file that has access to any of the functions in functions.php

<?php

include("functions.php");

hello_world();

?>

The index.php file has access to all the functions contained within functions.php (even if you choose to only use one function contained with the functions.php file).

;)

My assignment is to create a PHP web page with a title and several links on it. The title might be, "My favorite links". Create a function to format the title and another function to format the link.

For the title function, provide a parameter to pass the text of the title. The function should surround the text with an opening and closing h1 tag and return the result as a string. The program should then output the string.

For the links, create a function that takes two parameters. One is the text that is displayed in Blue and the other is the URL of the link. The output should be a formatted link.

Include 5 links on the page, creating each one with a link function.

This is what I typed up:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

myfavoritelinks.php

<html>

<head>

<title>My Favorite Links</title>

</head>

<body>