Link Encrypting

scotty2026

Hello. I am very new at programming with php. So I am not familiar with mod_rewrite ucffool. I looked at the tutorial you provided mjdamato. However, I am interested in just encrypting the link and not the actual file location. Is there a way to encrypt just the link?

Edit: ps. the links I am wanting to encrypt are on a phpbb forum. Not sure if this will make a difference.

msplink is not used to prevent hot-linking it is used for tracking purposes. Even if you did encrypt the URL how would that prevent hot-linking, the person could hot-link using the encrypted URL.

To prevent hotlinking you can use either the mod-rewrite or another function like the one I posted. They work the same way - prevent access to your images from pages outside your domain. But, they are very flexible in that you can replace the image with a substitute or allow access for some domains and not others, etc.

I think I understand what you're going for here. If you want to just encrypt the link, you just need to find a two-way encryption algorithm. I've used mcrypt in the past, it works just fine. So for instance http://www.example.com/images/encryptedlink, just decrypt "encryptedlink" and use that to determine what image to serve and check to see if the request is coming from your domain.

I think I understand what you're going for here. If you want to just encrypt the link, you just need to find a two-way encryption algorithm. I've used mcrypt in the past, it works just fine. So for instance http://www.example.com/images/encryptedlink, just decrypt "encryptedlink" and use that to determine what image to serve and check to see if the request is coming from your domain.

That's all well and good, but the encryption does nothing to prevent hot-linking. It is only process of checking the request URL that will prevent hot-linking.