Data Structure Help

rabadaba

I am new to php - MySQL and need help in defining a proper robust structure for data to be shred between two tables.

The first table is the 'category' table, which contains 'id',  'Element X', 'Element Y' etc.  I am using the 'id' as the logical category because it ties in well.

The second table is the 'content' table with its own 'id' (not related to the category table) 'ElementA' ElementB' etc.

My question -  I need to link the two tables.  Should I:

1. Add a field to the 'category' table to tie to one of the Elements in the 'content' table

or

2.  Add a field to the 'content' table to tie each row to its parent 'category'  'id'?

What makes the most efficient use of coding and structure and why?

Relationship between tables is tied to the meaning of the data. It's hard to give you an answer without you being more specific.

What is exactly "content" and "category"? I don't know if a category can have 0 or more contents or contents can belong to 0 or more categories. Once you establish those relationship rules, the rest falls naturally.

For instance, if a content can belong to only 1 category, the relationship could be established by adding a field to the content table - say, named "catid" - and create a foreign key relationship to category through that field.

If one content could 0 or more categories, you would do this with the help of a 3rd intermediary table...

If you can be more specific, it will help.

My webiste is quite simple.

I am using table names - so there are many other fields but that it not my question.

All 'content' items can only belong to only one category.

Thus I take the best solution is to add  a 'cat_id' field to the content table... 

In that case yes. You create a "catid" field (can be any other name thet suits you best) and make it the exact same type as the ID field of the category table, assuming that's also the category table primary index. It won't hurt making that new field an index.