What's the use of abstract classes/methods?

renatov
Go to solution Solved by .josh,

Hi guys, I'm studying PHP by myself (mainly using PHP manual, which lacks real world examples) and I have a question. As far as I understood, abstract classes can't be instantiated and the methods you specify as abstract must be defined by classes that extends the abstract class. Is that correct? If it is, I can't see the use of it. Are abstract classes important? What is it commonly used for in real world situations?

ps: is this subforum the right place to post questions like this?

There are times when you want to create a number of subclasses that all inherit from the same base class, but insure that the base class can not be instantiated itself.  A simple example would be a zoo simulation where you decide that you want to have a factory class that can "make" new animals.  When your application needs to create a new lion, for example, you don't want to have to write the same code over and over, when you can instead have completely generic code that creates animals of any type.

Once an animal object is created, you will probably need to call some standard methods, and again if you based all your specific animal classes off an abstract animal class, your non-abstract methods can be called.  Imagine you need some code that Will store an animal name, birthdate, gender and location in a table. You may decide that for each animal class you'll have a seperate table  with the same name as the class.  So in this example, you will have a lion table in the database.

In your abstract animal class you might have:

//Animal class.
public function saveNew() {
    $table = get_class($this);
    $this->db->$table->insert(array('name' => $this->name, 'birthdate' => $this->birthdate, 'location' => $this->location, 'gender' => $this->gender));
}

Needless to say, you will not have an 'animal' table, so making the baseclass abstract provides some protection against issues with saveNew().