if (isset($_SESSION['un']) && isset($_SESSION['pw'])

adman4054
Go to solution Solved by gizmola,

Looking for some help with what Im assuming is a session variable. As you can tell, Im not a coder. I have software that checks to see if the user is signed in as an administrator, if they are, then a message should appear. Here is the code:

if (isset($_SESSION['un'])  && isset($_SESSION['pw']) && $adminFreeListing ) { 
							  ?>
<td><font color="#FF0000">
Admin - Is this a free listing?
</font>
</td>
<td><input name="free" type="radio" value="N" 
<?php 
if (!isset($_POST['free']) OR $_POST['free'] == 'N') {
echo " checked";
}
?>
>
No 
<input type="radio" name="free" value="Y"
<?php 
if ( $_POST['free'] == 'Y') {
echo " checked";
}
?>

It works about 50% of the time and Im not sure why. It guessing it might have something to do with multiple copies of the same software (used for different sites) and or the use of subdirectories example.example.com and example1.example.com. Those are just guesses on my part. So my question is how can I make it work all the time. Is there a different method I might be able to use? Im not sure if this is enough information to lend me a hand, regardless, thanks for looking at it.

Well this is simple code.  Those 3 variables must be set for this block of code to execute.  Otherwise it will be skipped.

If any of those 3 variables are not set (and the last variable must exist AND be set to TRUE) then things won't work.

Why might that be the case?  Well, this indicates that it's part of a bigger system.  So obviously if there's login occurring, your session setup is important.  If you are not sharing sessions across your domain  'example.com' then that could explain the problem.  

You can try this:  

Edit your server php.ini and alter this parameter: session.cookie_domain

session.cookie_domain = '.example.com'

If the problem goes away you know that was the issue.