better understanding of LAMP Stack through Reverse-Engineering Application

phineas629

Hi all,

I apologize if this is not very well thought out as I'm still new to PHP, the LAMP Stack and web development.  I have a very general idea of how everything fits together but it's still very foggy for me. Most of the books I read focus on coding examples in PHP and some SQL but I'm looking to learn about how everything fits in together before coding.

I'd like to reverse engineer an application to get a better feel for how everything fits together.

I've downloaded an open source application called Time Trex but I'm already stuck. I'm even more lost now as it seems by browsing other projects that there's different structures or strategies to setting up the directory for websites.

In the case of Tim Trex :

After installed, I looked at the shortcut icon on my desktop and it showed  http://localhost:8085 . After double click, I am directed to the login page.

Right clicking on the page in Mozilla to show the page source came up with view-source:http://localhost:8085/interface/html5/#!m=Login . I traced it as far as C:\TimeTrex\timetrex\interface\html5  but where does the rest of the path:  #!m=Login come from? Also, how do I determine why this page was first to show? Are there specific files or folders I should be paying attention to?

Thanks

Frankly, I doubt that it's a good idea to “disassemble” a full-blown web application in the hopes of learning web development from it.

Modern applications often hide the inner workings behind a thick layer of fancy techniques (URL rewrites, asynchronous requests etc.), making it very difficult to understand what's going on. Even actual programmers would struggle with this, and the learning value is very low. In the end, you may know a bit about HTML5 and hashbang URLs (the #!m=Login stuff), but that doesn't really get you any closer to becoming a developer.