[SOLVED] Help with pulling data from 2 mysql tables?

ragu78

Hi guys,

I am new to coding and all  .. I'm slowly learning and am trying to pull data from two different tables to produce one outcome. I have two separate tables one called "teams" and the other called "userteams".

In the "teams" table I have the following:

team_id

name

mail

In the" userteams" I have the following:

uid (user id for my website)

team_id

Now what I'm trying to do is call the persons team ID from the userteams table by there cookie when there logged in, like so:

$getteamid = $db->sql_query("SELECT team_id FROM ".$prefix."_ WHERE uid='$cookie[0]'");

$teamid = mysql_num_rows($getteamid);

Now that works fine and I end up with the number 1 which is that persons team_id number. My problems start when I try to use the persons team_id number to pull the persons team name from the other table called "teams" like so:

$getteamname = $db->sql_query("SELECT name FROM ".$prefix."_teams

WHERE team_id='$teamid'");

$teamname = mysql_fetch_array($getteamname);

I also tried:

$getteamname = $db->sql_query("SELECT name FROM ".$prefix."_teams

WHERE team_id='$getteamid'");

$teamname = mysql_fetch_array($getteamname);

Is this not the correct way to do it? Cause when I use "$teamname" on my page it does not show that persons team name. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thx guys

Thx for the reply it is appreciated ...

I dont quite understand what you mean? Im a ober noob when it comes to coding and so I have no clue on how to join. Could you possible give me a example that I could go with if you have time. Thx again.

Yes I'm wanting the team name (row "name") and team email (row "mail"). So adding $cookie[0] were <the-uid-you-want> would give me the results I'm looking for? How does it know what database database and tables Im calling it from? or is that just a code I'm suppose to be adding to my existing sql query: