using switch with php

garry

Okay, so I'm trying to write a music review website using php. I want to set it up so that it goes www.mysite.com/artists.php?id=1 for example, and then it would check the id against the database and get the row for the artist id that is 1. I'm trying to do this using a switch and keep getting errors with variables not being defined and such and don't know how to do it. Can someone please have a look at my code and help?

<?php
   add_header();

db_connect();

$query ="
         SELECT artist_id, artist, description
         FROM artists
         WHERE artist_id = '$artistid'   
         ";

$result = mysql_query($query);

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);

$artistid = ????

switch ($id) {

case ($artistid):

echo 'artist info';

break;

default:
     echo "Welcome to the artists page!";
     break;

}

?>

I am only very new to php and still learning.

Thankyou for any help!

The variable $id has never been defined.

Perhaps you can use if, else method instead, it's simpler.

<?php

add_header();

db_connect();

$query ="
         FROM artists
         WHERE artist_id = '$artistid'   
         ";

if (!empty($row['artist']))
{
     echo 'Welcome to the page of ' . $row['artist'];
}
else 
{
echo 'Artist ID not found';
}

?>

Thanks for your reply!

Unfortunately that wouldn't work as it wouldn't be able to provide the .php?id=x ability. After playing around a bit, I've got it all working except one bit.

<?php
 add_header();

db_connect();

$id = $_GET['id'];

$query ="
		FROM artists
		WHERE artist_id = '$id'    
		";

switch ($id) {

case ($id):

echo "<b>Artist:</b> " . $row['artist'] . "<br /><br /><b>Description:</b> <br />" . $row['description'];

break;

default:
  break;

}

?>

Now this code works fine when you navigate to a .php?id= page and will show the relevant information for the artist. However if you just go to the artists.php page (the default case) I get the following page: