Javascript Usage

chronister

Hello,

I have a question for you folks.

I have very little experience with Javascript. I have not needed it  on any largescale project yet. I have also avoided using it for core functionality of my sites. If a user accidentally had JS disabled in their browser, my sites still work.

I am noticing a big trend in websites using Javascript and if it is turned off, then you can't use the site...

Is JS considered so standard now-days that it is commonplace to assume that it is going to be available? What are the best practices concerning using javascript, do you build 2 sites? 1 flashy js rich app, and then a plain vanilla HTML site?

What do you folks do?

Thanks,

Nate

My personal preference is to build the core functionality without javascript/ajax and then in an unobtrusive way add the js functionality needed. Beyond the core functionality I say "If you disable javascript, change font sizes, ect then you know there could be problems with advanced features." If they change something locally that is beyond my control and I will not support such changes. I compare it to disabling css.. No one is going to be able to support anything like that. So, as a general rule I do not support users without javascript enabled except for the core basic functionality.

I'm mostly in agreement with tomfmason. Whenever possible the JavaScript should only be used to "enhance" a page. It should not be a requirment to use the page.

For example, form validation is a great use of javascript. Of course, there should already be validation on the server-side. But also having validation on the client-side helps the user by not having to submit a form with bad data. If done correctly, JavaScript validation can be added so that it does not affect those with JS disabled.