website too slow

speedy33417

I have a database website that I created for my business from scratch. It tracks business appointments, employees, clients, client addresses, payments, reports, etc...

Right now it has over 1,5 years worth of data in it. About 400 clients, 600 addresses, 5000 appointments.

I don't think it's a large amount of data. I hear people working with millions of rows in their database.

I use JOIN statements whenever it's possible. I'm no expert programmer but the site does its purpose for me.

I have a goDaddy shared hosting account and lately I've been experiencing that my site is VERY slow.

The main appointment page normally displays one week of schedule. It calculates a list of employees who actually have active appointments for the week, then displays a weekly schedule for them.

The funny thing is sometimes the page is awful fast, but sometimes it takes 15-20 seconds to load/appear.

I'm trying to figure out what to do, because it's just getting really annoying and slows me down when I take appointments over the phone and it takes minutes to find an available spot for the client.

Normally there's just only me on the website. At some points there may be up to 4 people on the website. So it's not like there are 100s of people flooding the database server...

The website has over 100 pages and I just realized that I don't close down the database connection at the end of page script. Each page starts with opening the db connection, but there is no closing it. Can that create any problems?

Can someone recommend anything for me to get rid of the slow load times?

If you need more information to give me an answer please ask and I'll try to answer them. Giving access to the site is not an option, though.

http://www.whenpenguinsattack.com/2007/04/09/10-tips-for-optimizing-mysql-queries/

or google it...

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=%22optimizing+mysql%22&btnG=Google+Search