Need Loads Of Help...

milla4da8killa

Well, I'm still new to PHP and MySQL. The way I've learned everything though before is to jump myself into it...and well, bit harder this time. I get conditional statements, but don't quite yet get how I can get an HTML form to interact with a PHP document, or how to save information into a DB and have it extracted or changed via PHP. So if anyone can really point me to some helpful tutorials or give me some advice or help with the aforementioned, it'd be much appreciated.

when you have an HTML form you can access those variables via $_POST

then to insert into a database do something like this:

$sql = "INSERT INTO users SET

d_id = '".$id."',

f_name = '".$_POST['fname']."',

l_name = '".$_POST['lname']."',

d_name = '".$_POST['dname']."',

email = '".$_POST['email']."',

password = '".$_POST['password']."',

date_added = now(),

status = '1'";

mysql_query($sql);

to select stuff from the database you can do it a few ways..

SELECT * FROM users will get everything inside my users table..

SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = 'myname' will get only where username is myname..

then to update which is very similar to my initial insert:

$sql = "UPDATE contact SET

Address = '$_POST[address]',

Telephone = '$_POST[phone]',

Fax = '$_POST[fax]',

Misc = '$_POST[misc]'";

mysql_query($sql);

hope it helps some?

ok, so it would be like <form action="http://blah.com/meh_page.php" method=post>

and the php would be...? Sorry, I'm extremely noobish to this stuff. I'm fine with HTML though, lol. Some of the stuff's clicking but this kind of stuff ain't. What excactly would be in the php document? $_POST('blah') to retreive name=blah from the HTML form?

say you have a simple form with one field (to keep it simple)

<form action="parse.php" method="post">
<input type="text" name="sampleField" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit" />
</form>