function calculate()

stublackett

Hi,

I'm a total JavaScript newbie, Working on an existing site which calculates the total price of each selected Adult, Child, Senior Citizen etc.

It is for a coach trip and a coach trip can only run if theres 15 or more people on it, But at the moment it is allowing less than 15 to be submitted, So what I'd like to do is work out the values that have been entered, If they havent entered 15 or more then block the form from being sent, Or perhaps a pop up message stating that a coach trip needs 15 or more to run

Here is the Java Code

function calculate()
{

validkids = false;
validadults = false;
if(!(parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-KIDS'].value,10) > 0)) document.form2['NUMBER-OF-KIDS'].value = 0
if(!(parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-SPECIAL-NEEDS'].value,10) > 0)) document.form2['NUMBER-OF-SPECIAL-NEEDS'].value = 0
if(!(parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-CARERS'].value,10) > 0)) document.form2['NUMBER-OF-CARERS'].value = 0
if(!(parseInt(document.form2['NO-OF-S-CITIZENS'].value,10) > 0)) document.form2['NO-OF-S-CITIZENS'].value = 0
if(!(parseInt(document.form2['NO-OF-ADULTS'].value,10) > 0)) document.form2['NO-OF-ADULTS'].value = 0	
var children =		parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-KIDS'].value,10)
var low_price = 	parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-KIDS'].value,10) + 
					parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-SPECIAL-NEEDS'].value,10) + 
					parseInt(document.form2['NUMBER-OF-CARERS'].value,10) + 
					parseInt(document.form2['NO-OF-S-CITIZENS'].value,10); // kids field
var adults = 		parseInt(document.form2['NO-OF-ADULTS'].value,10); // adults 

kd = parseInt (low_price,10)
ad = parseInt (adults,10)

var freeadults=Math.floor(children/10); // 1 free adult
//document.getElementById("freeadults").innerHTML = "Number of Adults that go free: " + freeadults
//Adults £8
//Kids, Special Needs, Carers and Senior Citizens 5.25

ad -= freeadults
if(ad < 0) ad = 0;
var xtotal = (kd*5.25) + (ad*