[SOLVED] DELETE FROM won't work.

noname_clark

hi all. i am new to this php community. i am trying to do a simple delete a record from a database using variables. here is a sample of the code:

<?php

$ip = $_POST['ip'];

$vote = $_POST['vote'];

$limit = $_POST['limit'];

//and a $conn=mysql_connect which i removed for this

//and a mysql_select_db which i removed for this

$query_delete = "DELETE FROM `vote` WHERE hidden=48 AND ip = $ip AND number = $vote LIMIT $limit";

$result_delete = mysql_query($query_delete) or die(mysql_error());

echo "finished";

?>

I have also tried:

$sql = 'DELETE * FROM `vote` WHERE `hidden` = 48 AND `number` = "$vote" AND `ip` = "$ip" LIMIT 1';

$result=mysql_query($sql,$conn) or die(mysql_error());

every time i either get: 1) a blank page 2) the code working properly (known by the echo) or 3) i get a mysql error.

if $ip = 209.120.190.225 and $vote = 99 and $limit = 4 the error is:

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '.190.255 AND number = 99 LIMIT 4' at line 1

which makes me thenk there is a problem with the ipaddress where the mysql is looking for a number, with one decimal instead of 3 in the ipaddress. i have tried putting single ( ' )and double ( " ) quotes around $ip and that does not work. if i try and submit the query my data base by entering:

DELETE FROM `vote` WHERE hidden=48 AND ip = "209.120.190.225" AND number = 99 LIMIT 4

and click "go" my database confirms me that i want to delete it. so i know that the code is correct (and that is only if i have quotes "209.120.190.225")

i feel like i have tried everything.... can anyone help? and i know its going to be something stupid and i'm going to kick my butt for it.....

thanks in advance

if i put in

$sql = "DELETE * FROM vote WHERE hidden = '48' AND number = '$vote' AND ip = '$ip' LIMIT 1";

and run the code with $vote = 50 and $ip = 209.120.190.255