First try at relational database...FAIL (where did I go wrong?!?!)

Tylor_Famous

I am kind of new to relational databasing (ok very new). And what I am doing is making a simple blog. I just want to have one table called "articles" where all the information about the blog post is stored an then another table called "authors" where all the information about the author is stored. Now the problem is I am not quite sure how to get out the information from both tables at the same time. Here is my code i came up with just from guessing and testing (lol) P.S. Don't worry about the HTML parts (like the divs and styles)...

<?php 
mysql_pconnect ("host", "user", "pass");
mysql_select_db ("database");
$qResult = mysql_query ("SELECT * FROM articles ORDER BY date DESC");
$nRows = mysql_num_rows($qResult);

for ($i=0; $i< $nRows; $i++){
$row = mysql_fetch_array($qResult);

$query = "SELECT * FROM authors WHERE `id` = '".$row['authorid']."' ";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die("Error: ". mysql_error(). " with query ". $query);
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);
extract($row); 

echo"
    <div class=\"carrielf\">
        <div class=\"entry\">
         <span class=\"title\">".$row['title']."<br /></span>
            <span class=\"pudate\">".$row['date']."<br /></span>
         <span class=\"author\">By: $name <br /></span>
         <p class=\"post\">".$row['prepost']."</p>
        </div> 
    </div>
";

}

?>

See, the problem is that I connect to the database two times (which i am sure is not good). And all this gives my anyway is the authors name. It just won't give my anything else because I reconnect to the database again before any information to taken using the first connection set up at the beginning of the file.

I am just a little confused and know that I am doing this totally wrong. Any help steering me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!