Error 2003 : HELP!

marty68

I'm a newbie so please keep it simple! (like me!)

I'm wanting to install MySQL solely for website testing with PHP over my home network. So far all access below has been done on the actual machine and not from another PC on the network.

Trying to install MySQL 6.0.5 on a Windows XP Pro system with IIS 5.1 and PHP 5.2.6. Using the Windows Installer version of the mysql download. When it gets to the Apply Security bit I keep getting the ERROR 2003: can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061) message.

I've searched the net for answers and while I find heaps of references to this error, none seem to help or apply to this situation! I've checked that mysqld is running (it is) and port 3306 is open in Windows Firewall (opened by the installer anyway and checked by me). There are no other firewalls running on that PC (Avast A/V software if that matters). I can access http://localhost/ from the machine so IIS is working. PHP is also working.

'mysqladmin -h version' and 'mysqladmin -h variables' both give appropriate responses (I'm typing this on a different computer so if necessary I can post details for these).

I've even tried re-installing and using a different port number (3316) but that only results in the same error.

HELP PLEASE!!!

Is it on the same machine as IIS? If not check to make sure the windows firewall is not on and it you have any sort of mcafree or norton then you probably have a firewall.

Yes, IIS, PHP and MySQL are all on the same machine, and I am using that machine to run the installer. There is nothing other than Avast anti-virus and Windows Firewall, and the exception for Port 3306 has been added to the Windows Firewall (was added by the MySQL installer). The machine in question is one that is used only as a shared storage for the home network so it has very minimal software so I know there is no McAfee or Norton software.