2500 columns...is mysql for me?

lindm

I have some little experience of mysql and php and am planning a project that could involve 2500 columns of a database. The project is nothing fancy but a financial report for companies. I am however not sure this is such a good idea or even possible?? Would much appreciate advice on the matter.

For you to get the idea, the table would basically be set up with the following columns:

ID

Password

Company

Setting1

Setting50

Turnover

ProfitLossforTheyear

Asset1

Asset100

TotalAssets

Equity

Debt1

Debt100

TotalDebt

Notedata1

Notedata1500

Yesterday I told you that MySQL is not a spreadsheet and you had a problem with your design. I gave you this link to read:

http://dev.mysql.com/tech-resources/articles/intro-to-normalization.html

Two hours later you post this. So, clearly, any advice we give you is completely ignored.

Why should we waste our time?

Hello Barand,

Understand your point. For a non-native english speaking person and a basic skilled mysql user the article has somewhat complicated text:

I have read the article but can mainly see one "normalization" issue: the company data and the financial report data. The fact still remains that I will have approx 2500 columns of "spreadsheet data" each company. Is splitting the financial report in different tables (ie one for settings, one for income statement, one for balance sheet, one for notes etc) really necessary? Each column will mainly contain figures not exceeding a 6-figure amount. Each column of the financial statement is unique for the company and not like an "author-column" in the article example.

Where ever I read the main idea is that mysql databases over 30-60 columns is not designed well. I will never come down to this figure...