Using wildcards

Zergman

Sorry if this has been asked before, search didn't find anything for me.

Anyways, I have a mysql database that has a date field thats formatted like 08/07/15.

I have that set in my insert form using this

<?php echo(date('y/m/d'))?>" />

.  Works like a charm.

Now what im trying to do is build a sql query for another page that will search the date field for only part of the date.  What i've done so far is to set the variable

$date = date ('y/m/d');

to use in my query, but that will only pull up the records for the current date.  What I want is for it to pull up say the entire month.  I thought

$date = date ('y/m/%');

would work but it doesn't.

This is my query

SELECT * FROM `data` WHERE uname = %s AND`data`.tdate = '$date' ORDER BY id DESC

Not even sure I know how to ask this question, I'm EXTREMELY new to all of this.  Any help would be appreciated.

well mysql is searching literally for '"8/07/%"'.  instead what you want is '"8/07/"%', if that makes any sense?

If you want to keep the date how it is formatted but search for only the first part of the date, you need to store date as

$date = date ('y/m/');

then the query should look like

SELECT * FROM `data` WHERE ... AND `data` LIKE '$date%' ORDER BY id DESC

note you use of "LIKE" instead of "=", and the % wild card at the end of $date

However, for a possibly more efficient way to keep records, store your data in the table as unix timestamps (number of seconds from December 31st 1969 12:00), and search for a date range that would correspond to the particular day you want to find (which in this case would be between 1216267200 and 1216353600).  You can find some unix timestamp converters online, use time() to return a unix timestamp, date([FORMATTED DATE], [uNIX TIMESTAMP]) to reverse the process, etc.  They are a lot easier to work with in the long run.

Wow, such quick replies!  awesome  ;D