Very Desperate - Performance Problem, NOT BASIC

anon_login_001

To begin: I've been a developer for quite some time, and although I wouldn't consider myself a "MySQL Expert" on a resume, I am *very* confident in my abilities to do decent MySQL performance tuning.

In this case, however, either I'm over-stressed and looking over something, or perhaps I'm truly out of my league and just don't realize it.

A company I'm working with has an installation of SugarCRM, which in the past has had some "custom" tabs/features/modules" added to it. Those custom additions are the source of queries that tend to run between 8 and 30 seconds a peice.

The queries, unfortunately, are built dynamically - so I'm having a hard time tracking down the best way to handle this situation, although they are mostly consistent.

If I'm not mistaken, the version of MySQL is a stable 4.1, on SuSE linux.

-----

I'll upload the whole my.cnf if needed, but don't have it at the moment. Though I will mention that:

The Query Cache is enabled, and running as effectively as possible. Since the slowest queries are dynamic, with changing search terms, the Query Cache doesn't keep them around anyway, since they're mostly One-offs.

The key-buffers are being used consistently, especially during these SELECT queries.

The query times are not being inflated by LOCKs... these are all SELECT Queries, and I've watched their status live several times, and there have been no LOCKs.

Also: YES, I am aware that there are some OBVIOUSLY poor structural issues. These are in place in a system that has been running for a very long time, and the point of my question is to see if there is anyone with a knowledge beyond my own that can help me make this work better *within my current contraints*. Knowledgeable answers that say "It cannot be done" are perfectly acceptable!

I'll be glad to supply any other information.

Aside from that, here's one particular problem query example: