[SOLVED] preg_match validation issues

mastwick

Hi

I seem to have a small problem with preg_match, I have searched through the forum for an answer but I couldn’t find anything to solve this.

Here goes, I have managed to use successfully to validate numbers from a database using

if (preg_match ("/^\d+$/", $code)) {

My little problem is that I have another database using the same database connection, but these numbers contain at least two letters, this is where everything falls apart because when the submit button is hit the error code for invalid number is displayed. I can’t find the right expression to use, since it will be the same form field being used I just want the validation just to check if there’s at least 10 numbers and doesn’t matter if there are any letters being used or not. I am not to experienced in php since I am still learning it, but any help would be appreciated on how i could solve this.

It sounds like you are looking for a regular expression to match a string containing numbers and letters...

What will the string look like more specifically? Will the letters be at the beginning, the end, in the middle or spread randomly throughout the string?

AB1234567890

1234567890AB

1234AB567890

12A3456B7890

or?

I just want the validation just to check if there’s at least 10 numbers

<pre>
<?php
$tests = array(
	'1234567890',
	'A123456789',
	'B1234567890',
	'ABCDEFGHIJ1234567890',
);
foreach ($tests as $test) {
	echo $test, ' => ';
	$numbers = 0;
	preg_replace('/\d/', '', $test, -1, $numbers);
	echo $numbers >= 10 ? 'Valid' : 'Invalid', '<hr>';
}
?>
</pre>

Hi There thanks for the helpful replies