Automatic download?

Cragsterboy

Hey,

ive just started getting into php, so yeh im a bit of a noob at the moment.

But i was wondering, is there a script which automatic downloads a file from another server to its own server ???

So like every twenty four hours (becuase the data i want to download updates every 24 hrs) it downloads the file to its server?

Ive had a look around but all im finding is scripts to force users to download which i dont want, so yeh if there is a script could you help me out with it?

Thanks,

~Crag

What is the file you're going to "download"? You could use file_get_contents, and then file_put_contents.

The file i want to download is a txt file, but its in urlencode() so when it downloads i need it to decode it as well, so i will have to find a script to do that as well, i did find a decoder script earlier but lost, but il find ti again in a moment. Do you have any tips or tricks for decoding it?

K ive just done a quick script with the two things you suggested, im guessing its wrong

<?php
echo file_get_contents("www.test.com/test.txt");
echo file_put_contents("test.txt","www.test.com/test.txt");

?> 

Am i on the correct lines there?

~Crag

No, your code needs to be

<?php

$contents = file_get_contents("http://www.test.com/test.txt");
if(!empty($contents))
{
    file_put_contents("test.txt", $contents);
}

?>

The file i want to download is a txt file, but its in urlencode() so when it downloads i need it to decode it as well

Do you mean it encoded using urlencode()? If so PHP has built function called urldecode() to decode the urlencode'd string.

<?php

if(!empty($contents))

$a = explode('&', $QUERY_STRING);

foreach($a as $key => $b)
{
   $b = split('=', $b);
   echo 'Value for parameter '.htmlspecialchars(urldecode($b[0])).' is '.htmlspecialchars(urldecode($b[1]))."<br />\n";
} 

{
}

?>