PHP5 running as cgi problems...

karamorf

So I'm probably do something retarded but i can no longer find any useful information to try and solve the problem i'm having ... The powers at be asked me to figure out how to setup PHP4 and PHP5 as on the same Apache 1.3 server (i know, kind of silly but that's what they want). Anywise, after much trouble i figured out they both cant be installed as modules (which makes sense ...) and the way to do it was to have one of them setup as a cgi executable. So I've got PHP4 setup and working as the module (because that's what the current servers have there setup as) and I'm trying to add PHP5 as cgi to the server, except i seem incapable of getting it to work. So i've got the php cgi binary at:

/usr/local/etc/cgi-php5/bin/php-cgi

And if i pass it a php5 file at the command line it spits out a bunch of php code. The problem is i cant figure out how to tell Apache to do this (basically I'm a complete linux noob but im learning...). Ive got the .htaccess file in the folder i want to execute the php files with this setup:

Options +ExecCGI +FollowSymLinks

Action php-script "/usr/local/etc/cgi-php5/bin/php-cgi"

AddHandler php-script .php5

and what happens when i browse to something to be executed as PHP5 i get a file not found error with the page its trying to find as:

The requested URL /usr/local/etc/cgi-php5/bin/php-cgi/test/test.php5 was not found on this server.

So this looks all wrong to me, but ive got no idea where my setup is incorrect (And there seems to be a lack of easy to follow guides that actually explain what the commands in the .htaccess file do, how to setup PHP5 as cgi, beyond just compiling it, and how to get the .file to be executed by the cgi binary at location x). To me it looks like it doesnt realize to send the php file to /usr/local/cgi-php5/bin/php-cgi and instead tries to browse to that path, but i cant seem to find any useful information on how to resolve this issue.