[SOLVED] 49.95 doesn't equal 49.95, what?

danbopes

Take a look at this, I am completely and utterly stumped.  I have about 5 years of experience, and I really believe I have come across a bug.

Inside of an object:
fwrite($logFd, $this->my_var_dump((floatVal('49.95') == floatVal('49.95'))));
$my_total = ($_POST['mc_gross'] + ($this->account_total($user_id)));
$test = $this->my_var_dump($my_total == $total);
$test2 = $this->my_var_dump($my_total);
$test3 = $this->my_var_dump($total);
fwrite($logFd, $test . ',' . $test2 . ',' . $test3);

$this->my_var_dump($var) simply just dumps the var, to a variable instead of to the browser.  Refer to var_dump on the php website.  This is what I get in the file:

bool(true)
bool(false)
,float(49.95)
,float(49.95)

I am seriously like WTF.

$this->account_total simply pulls from a database:

function account_total($user_id)
{
	// BE SURE TO GET A FRESH ROW!  $this->user->user_info is session based, and may not be up to date!
	$row = $this->db->getRow("SELECT `account_type`, `static_balance`, `dynamic_balance` FROM `users` WHERE `id` = " . $user_id);

if ( empty($row) )
		return '0.00';

if ( $row['account_type'] > 1 )
		return number_format($row['static_balance'] + $row['dynamic_balance'], 2);
	else
		return '0.00';

}

I just want to add them up and do a bit of checking, but idk whats wrong.

<?php
$_POST['mc_gross'] = '0.80';

class paypal_IPN
{
function process()
{
	$total = 49.95;

var_dump($my_total == $total);
	var_dump($my_total);
	var_dump($total);
}

{
	return 49.15;
}
} //end of class

$index = new PayPal_IPN();
$index->process();
?>

<?php

$a = '14.95';
$b = 14.95;

var_dump( $a == $b );		# bool(true)
var_dump( $a === $b );		# bool(false)
var_dump( (float)$a === $b );	# bool(true)

?>

Do you even look at my code before you post?  They are both floats...and I am checking to see if they are equal...why are you bringing in '===' to this?