Dermatology project ideas...

cgm225

I am a newly graduated doctor in the field of dermatology.  However, in addition to skin, PHP/MySQL/web programming are big interests of mine.  Therefore, I have been looking to get involved in some type of online dermatology project, and contacted the three major skin atlas sites, but never heard back (DermIS, DermAtlas, DermNet).  I think all of them could use some serious work (just look at them and their HTML source code... I am sure the actual ASP, coldfusion, or PHP code is just as bad).  First questions, what do you think of these sites?  What are they lacking?  Strengths and weaknesses?

I ask because before I go and start another online atlas myself, I want to know if you think that type of project would be worth my effort?  In my opinion, as time goes on, projects like wikipedia are going to overtake these other sites (at least in content, maybe not in actual images), so is it really worth it to create another one?

I guess, this is my big question... I want to do some online project relating to dermatology... I want to do it well, and to be useful to others... but I am not sure what exactly to do...

Any ideas?

Thanks again... the phpfreaks community rocks!

bt

First of all, congrats on your graduation :)

Regarding those websites, I think their layouts are horrible. The last one, DermNet, doesn't look so bad, but just pretty plain (the web developer on that site must've had one of them "actinic keratosis horns" inside his brain when he wrote the HTML markup though). If you're good at designing then that's something you could take a look at.

Nevertheless, I don't know anything about dermatology, but a directory over the various deceases you can have sounds like a good idea. Of course, it has been done so you need to make sure that yours is better and it has at least as much information as the other ones do.

@Daniel0 - Thank you for the kind words, and all the work you do on this site!