search help

robbyrice

MySQL version 5.0.67

Let me start off by saying that I am fairly new to databases and data-driven programs/websites.  With that said, I have taken on the project of creating a simple LAN-based search program for my school library.  For the moment I am working essentially with two tables "books" and "authors" (which should seem pretty logical :o).  The structure of the tables is as follows (although I don't include all of the columns from each table).

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `test`.`authors`;
CREATE TABLE  `test`.`authors` (
  `author_ID` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `last_name` varchar(50) NOT NULL,
  `first_name` varchar(50) default NULL,
  `middle_name` varchar(50) default NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`auteur_ID`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB AUTO_INCREMENT=14 DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `test`.`books`;
CREATE TABLE  `test`.`books` (
  `book_ID` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `title` varchar(150) NOT NULL,
  `lang` varchar(1) NOT NULL,
  `copy` tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`livre_ID`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB AUTO_INCREMENT=18 DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

Having done some research already I know that this is a many to many relationship because a book can have 1 or more authors, and author could be associated with one or more books.  Because of this, I also have a link table.

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `test`.`link_table`;
CREATE TABLE  `test`.`link_table` (
  `author_ID` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL,
  `book_ID` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`auteur_ID`,`livre_ID`),
  UNIQUE KEY `Index_2` (`livre_ID`,`auteur_ID`),
  CONSTRAINT `FK_link_table1` FOREIGN KEY (`author_ID`) REFERENCES `authors` (`author_ID`),
  CONSTRAINT `FK_link_table_2` FOREIGN KEY (`book_ID`) REFERENCES `books` (`book_ID`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

In this table the primary key is a composite key made up of the author_ID and book_ID.