External Reading Of Information In A MySQL

DukeOfMarshall

My MySQL is 4.1.22.

I'm trying to setup up something with PHP right now to read something from one of my MySQL databases in order to retrieve certain information. Eventually I will be doing it with a .NET application.

My server informed me that I can allow access to certain IP addresses or all IP addresses, but I don't want to do ALL IP addresses because of the obvious securtiy risks and I can't set it to a certain IP address because my clients are going to be from varying IP addresses.

All I need to do is have a simple script that will read a few pieces of information from the database externally. I've never done external before so that's why I'm needing some advice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here's what I've tried so far, but the server keeps rejecting access.

**test.php

<?

global $t;

$t = "828-555-5555";

include("http://test.dukeofmarshall.com/call.php");

echo $name."<BR>";

echo $denomination."<BR>";

echo $address."<BR>";

echo $city.", ".$state." ".$zip."<BR>";

echo $phone."<BR>";

echo $email."<BR>";

?>

**call.php

<?

global $name;

global $denomination;

global $address;

global $city;

global $state;

global $zip;

global $phone;

global $email;

mysql_connect("localhost", "$USERNAME", "$PASSWORD") or die(mysql_error());

mysql_select_db("$DATABASE") or die(mysql_error());

$find = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM churches WHERE phone='$t'") or die(mysql_error());

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($find)){

$name = $row['name'];

$denomination = $row['denomination'];

$address = $row['address'];

$city = $row['city'];

$state = $row['state'];

$zip = $row['zip'];

$phone = $row['phone'];

$email = $row['email'];

}

}

?>