large csv file to mysql using php?

paulmo

trying to load maxmedia geocity lite's (free) large csv files using a blogger's php code (have x'd values). i've ftp uploaded this file to server, and created link to it from webpage, thinking that would "activate" it somehow (i'm a newbie). in phpadmin/mysql, i'm creating "csv" table with 1 field and naming it "blocks" although that's probably not the right thing to do (would rather have the code populate/make the table, but don't know how to do that). anyhow the csv file is freezing/not loading through import.

using php/mysql on local machine was a headache previously so i'm doing all of this via remote server (ftp/phpadmin/mysql=godaddy).

please help, thanks.

$databasehost = “xxx”;
$databasename = “xxx”;
$databasetable = “csv”;
$databaseusername =”xxx”;
$databasepassword = “xxx”;
$fieldseparator = “,”;
$lineseparator = “\n”;
$csvfile = “GeoLiteCity-Blocks.csv”;
/********************************************************************************************/
/* Would you like to add an ampty field at the beginning of these records?
/* This is useful if you have a table with the first field being an auto_increment integer
/* and the csv file does not have such as empty field before the records.
/* Set 1 for yes and 0 for no. ATTENTION: don’t set to 1 if you are not sure.
/* This can dump data in the wrong fields if this extra field does not exist in the table
/********************************************************************************************/
$addauto = 0;
/* Would you like to save the mysql queries in a file? If yes set $save to 1.
/* Permission on the file should be set to 777. Either upload a sample file through ftp and
/* change the permissions, or execute at the prompt: touch output.sql && chmod 777 output.sql
$save = 1;
$outputfile = “output.sql”;

if(!file_exists($csvfile)) {
echo “File not found. Make sure you specified the correct path.\n”;
exit;
}

$file = fopen($csvfile,”r”);

if(!$file) {