[SOLVED] using SELECT two ways at once

gwydionwaters

Sounds like a good idea.  What does your form code look like so far?

If you haven't started.. you will need a form the does the following:

1) Accept 3 inputs, one for cost, name, and type. [or none]

2) PHP to validate the input (cost is a number/currency, name contains valid characters, type is a valid type)

3) Construct the query.

a) The query will always have your base: "SELECT * FROM Gear"

b) The query will always have your order: " ORDER BY type"

c) You will only fill in the middle if 1 or more options are selected.

4) Options selected?

a) Yes.  Query from 3a) + " WHERE option='$optionvalue'"

b) More than one?  3a) + 4a) + " OR option='$optionvalue'"

5) Combine all necessary queries (usually as you go along)

a) The query will always be at least: 3a) + 3b).  You will add stuff to the middle if the user requests it.

Hope that gets you going.

thanks for the guidelines, i'm still learning php (started a few day's ago) so it might be harder than it sounds lol my form actually has more values than those mention it looks like this

<form name="form" action="gearsearch.php" method="post">
   <table align="center" width="60%" border="0">
    <tr>
     <td align="center">By Name<BR><input type="text" name="Name"></td><td align="center">Author<BR><input type="text" name="Author"></td><td align="center">Keyword<BR><input type="text" name="Key"></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>