Kryllster Posted January 7, 2009 Share Posted January 7, 2009 here is the code Im working on. <?php session_start(); $username = $_SESSION['username']; // php shorthand from the PhPFreaks forum $buy = (!isset($_GET['buy'])) ? 'main' : $_GET['buy']; switch($buy){ case 'firethunder': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '350000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 350000, skill1_name = replace(skill1_name, '$skill1_name', 'Fire Thunder'), skill1_bonus = $skillbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); //header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; exit(); } break; } case 'lightpush': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '350000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 350000, skill1_name = replace(skill1_name,'$skill1_name','Light Push'), skill1_bonus = $skillbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); //header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; //exit(); } break; } case 'cleave': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '475000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 475000, skill2_name = replace(skill2_name,'$skill2_name','Cleave'), skill2_bonus = $skillbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; exit(); } break; } case 'bash': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '475000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 475000, skill2_name = replace(skill2_name,'skill2_name','Bash'), skill2_bonus = $skillbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); //header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; exit(); } break; } case 'coldstun': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '800000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 800000, skill3_name = replace(skill3_name,'$skill3_name','Cold Stun'), skill3_bonus = $skillbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); //header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; exit(); } break; } case 'criticalstrike': $skillbonus = mt_rand(1,5); // db config include('includes/db_config.php'); // Select data from database $sql = "SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$username'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); // Put info into array Hopefully while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { // player config include('includes/player_config.php'); // check for money if they dont have it let them know else go with transaction if($row['onhand'] < '900000'){ header("Location: mainview.php?show=warnmoney"); exit(); } else{ // Update database $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET onhand = onhand - 900000, skill3_name = replace(skill3_name,'$skill3_name','Critical Strike'), skill3_bonus = $specialbonus WHERE username='$username'"; mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()."<p>$sql</p>"); //header("Location: mainview.php?show=d3buyskills"); echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Refresh\"CONTENT=\"0; URL=mainview.php?show=d3buyskills\">"; exit(); } break; } // while and switch delimiters do not add anything else below } ?> not sure what the problems is I am trying to get the skill bnames written to the db. so not sure if its a php question or a mysql question. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/139794-solved-not-sure-about-this/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
fenway Posted January 7, 2009 Share Posted January 7, 2009 not sure what the problems is I am trying to get the skill bnames written to the db. so not sure if its a php question or a mysql question. If you don't know, than neither do we... start debugging your script to identify the problematic section of code. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/139794-solved-not-sure-about-this/#findComment-731433 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kryllster Posted January 7, 2009 Author Share Posted January 7, 2009 Sorry for the lack of information. For 1 I am using wamp2.0f and mysql version 5.1.30. I have 6 fields in my database skill1_name, skill1_bonus, skill2_name, skill2_bonus, skill3_name, skill3_bonus. I use this command to execute the script from a form. d3learnskills.php?buy=firethunder what it does do is this, it will change the data for the money and the skill bonus but will not change the skill name in the appropriate location ie it puts a skill3_name in the skill1_name slot and sometimes it will not do that. Now if I write 6 separate scripts to do this it will work I'm just trying to consolidate. I dont get any errors at all it just runs the script but it just seems kinna buggy. 1 more thing I get this warning in phpmyadmin: Your PHP MySQL library version 5.0.51a differs from your MySQL server version 5.1.30. This may cause unpredictable behavior. could this be the culprit?? I hope that makes it a little easier to help?? Thanks Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/139794-solved-not-sure-about-this/#findComment-731480 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kryllster Posted January 7, 2009 Author Share Posted January 7, 2009 Thanks for your reply I read that and also your signature and well it had me thinking and of course I took a break from it for a while and I found out why it was not working. Solution = instead of a form <form action="d3learnskills.php?buy=lightpush" metod="post"> <br> <input type="radio" name="skill" value="Light Push"> <br> <input type=submit value="Learn This Skill"> That will not work with the script that way. However this will: <a href="d3learnskills.php?buy=lightpush">Learn this Skill</a> I could write different code to set it up in the way of a form but the one that works is fine for me. I learned 2 things 1 if something frustrates you sleep on it and come back to it. 2 How to accomplish what your wanting to do specifically. Thanks again. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/139794-solved-not-sure-about-this/#findComment-731515 Share on other sites More sharing options...
fenway Posted January 7, 2009 Share Posted January 7, 2009 Way to persevere! Good job. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/139794-solved-not-sure-about-this/#findComment-731743 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.