install apache 2.2 to windows workgroup

joebWI

I'm brand new to Apache and need some help and advice installing Apache 2.2.

What we have:

Cable Modem -> Router -> Switch -> Windows Server 2003 EE with SP2

Windows Workgroup: WG1.  Computer: BOX1.  Static local IP assigned.

IIS is runnning on port 80.

In the router, ports 80 and 8080 are forwared to this local IP address.

WINS in running on a different server.

No local DNS.

No active directory.

What our goals are:

To have Subversion running on this server where files can be updated and checked in while:

a. on the console of BOX1

b. on another computer on the local network

c. people working elsewhere using the Internet.

We are willing to use whatever url is necessary to make it work in the 3 different scenarios..i.e. localhost, BOX1, local IP or public IP.

Questions:

NOTE:  Because IIS is already being used on this box, I choose the install using port 8080 option and have found the documentation for installing it to run as a Windows service so I think I'm covered there.

1. When installing, it prompts for a Network Domain.  Because there is no local DNS or active directory, what should I specify?  The Windows workgroup name?

2. When installing, it prompts for a Server Name.  What should I put here?  BOX1, 192.168.xxx.xxx, the public IP, or something else?

3. To get all of this to work, do I need to modify the configuration file to tweak settings, IP's etc.?  Setup a virtual host?  (If so, I could use assistance as to what to do.)

Thank you in advance for any information or assistance you can provide.

Regards,

Joe

1. When installing, it prompts for a Network Domain.  Because there is no local DNS or active directory, what should I specify?  The Windows workgroup name?

That should be fine. I believe you can leave it blank as well, but I'm not entirely sure.

2. When installing, it prompts for a Server Name.  What should I put here?  BOX1, 192.168.xxx.xxx, the public IP, or something else?