Any book on PHP best practices?

cmiddlebrook

Hi there,

I am new to web development, my background is with C++ and C#. In the C++ community in particular there were a handful of books containing best practices of the language that were considered essential reading such as 'Effective C++' and 'C++ Coding Standards'. I've looked around for something similar for PHP but not found anything. Does such a book exist for PHP?

Caroline

As you know higher level languages have fundamental rules and standards mostly because memory management is left to the developer. Yes there are other reasons, but coming from C you already understand that memory management is the key to application development. Well in PHP there really isn't any way to manage memory, other than maintaining good standards that you should already know coming from C! Really PHP unlike Java, C, VB does not have any set standards, you can tell that by looking at PHP(s) core, just its basic function naming conversions will have anyone scratching their head.

I myself cannot recommend any book, because none of them that I have read follow the same rules from start to finish, but if you want a simple practical guide based off Todd's C++ coding standards, then use... this link, but as I said before being a C developer you should understand the rules of engagement!

Hi there,

I am new to web development, my background is with C++ and C#. In the C++ community in particular there were a handful of books containing best practices of the language that were considered essential reading such as 'Effective C++' and 'C++ Coding Standards'. I've looked around for something similar for PHP but not found anything. Does such a book exist for PHP?

Caroline