Question about queries using search prefs contained in a table

whitestar73

Hi all, I'm pretty new to SQL and PhP. I've been self teaching web development over the past couple years, and I'm currently developing a few web sites for myself and others (nothing PRO... yet).

I'm having a dilema with a search method I'm trying to use, but basically it's searching a couple tables based on user search preferences that are contained in another table. I can do simple queries, but this concept got a little complicated because of how I'm trying to do it. Maybe I'm doing this the wrong way, but it seemed logical to me when I thought about it.

As an example, I have the following tables:

(the user_id is the PRI KEY in each table)

user_search_prefs (contains all user search prefs)

user_interests (contains user interests)

users (master user table, contains general user info)

What I want to do is get a list of user ID's from the master user table to be used later on by doing essentially, the following:

SELECT user_id FROM users

WHERE (search prefs intersect with information in users and user_interests)

I want to do something like:

(step 1) SELECT * FROM user_search_prefs WHERE my_user_id = $uid

(step 2) then using PhP to get the search prefs to be used in the WHERE clause in the query in step 3

(step 3)

SELECT user_id FROM users

WHERE users.age = '$age' AND user_search_prefs.interest1 = '$interest1' etc...

As a test, I tried a simple query of known values in PhPMyadmin, and got an error returned saying something like "unknown column 'users.age' in the WHERE clause". I -thought- you could reference tables and columns like this, but it seems that this can only be used when you're using aliasing?

I had a thought about using INTERSECT in the WHERE clause like:

WHERE

(select * from user_search_prefs WHERE user_id = '$myuserid' INTERSECT select * from user_interests)

AND

(select * from user_search_prefs WHERE user_id = '$myuserid' INTERSECT select * from users)