[SOLVED] mysql_real_escape_string() and stripslashes()

Fluoresce

I was getting SQL syntax errors whenever someone entered quotation marks in my forms. I'm a newbie, so I overlooked the fact that the inclusion of quotation marks in form fields would mess up the SQL INSERT statement.

Just now, I incorporated mysql_real_escape_string() into my form, which escapes problematic characters like quotation marks by putting a slash in front of them. It seems to work. However, the problem is, the slashes also make it through to my database. I'm assuming that this is normal, and that I have to use stripslashes() whenever I echo the data onto my page. Is that correct? Or, can I do something to stop the slashes from being inserted into my database?

$text = $_POST['text']:
$text = str_replace("'","",$text);  //Strip out '
$text = str_replace('"','',$text);   //Strip out "
$text = mysql_real_escape_string($text); //make it safe enough

That should do it. But it is not the correct method. As user's some time's like there 's.

Killah, that would strip all quotation marks (double and single) from the text and add slashes to any remaining problematic characters, right? But I want the quotation marks to make it into my database. If I remove them, I'll have loads of bad punctuation on my site.

How do I allow the quotation marks to be inserted without the use of mysql_real_escape_string() to prepend slashes for the INSERT statement? Or, can't this be done?

Sure, Corbin:

<?php

// Required fields. Function mysql_real_escape_string() escapes
// all disallowed characters (e.g., apostrophes) in the SQL statement.
$adv = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['adv']);
$website = $_POST['website'];
$catid = $_POST['catid'];
$prod_serv = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['prod_serv']);
$returns = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['returns']);
$benefits = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['benefits']);
$support = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['xsupport']);