XML DATA

umishra

Hi All,

I am a newbie in PHP and I am stuck up on an issue...

I am using a tool based in PHP.

I have added some steps to a tests.These steps are in the XML format.An example of one being given below.

<corecom:Name>Demo</corecom:Name>

Now,on submittinghat this steps to the browser and viewing it,the result shown is just shown as

Demo. The xml tags are not visible.

On checking in the Database,the column value is <corecom:Name>Demo</corecom:Name>

While retrieving the data on the browser,the tags are not visible...

On checking the view source,i can see the xml tags

<corecom:Name>Demo</corecom:Name>

I have included the below string in my php file

htmlentities($step_action, ENT_COMPAT);

But this solves half the problem.

Now,when I am adding these steps from the browser,the tags are visible.

But when importing an excel sheet containing the same xml tag,it shows as

&ltcorecom:Name&gtDemo&lt/corecom:Name&gt

The "<" and ">" symbols are getting replaced by "&lt" and "&gt"

Thanks...

The "<" and ">" symbols are getting replaced by "&lt" and "&gt"

You did that yourself... ::)

If I remove the htmlentities($step_action, ENT_COMPAT);

then the tags are visible when importing from the excel sheet.

But they are not visible when added from the browser directly...

Please help..........

Well, you're not the one reading it, are you? If you want to read it then serve it as application/xml like you're supposed to do for XML data. A page will default to text/html in a web browser, but yours isn't HTML, so of course it'll not look right.

Well, you're not the one reading it, are you? If you want to read it then serve it as application/xml like you're supposed to do for XML data. A page will default to text/html in a web browser, but yours isn't HTML, so of course it'll not look right.

Could you please elaborate on this.