MVC + whole presentation layer question

mr groovy

Hi,

I am new to phpfreaks.com, this is my first post.

I am writing a object oriënted framework with the Model View Controller concepts in mind, but have a question.

I know the basics of MVC: a frontcontroller recieves the URI and selects a controller to call the right action (function that is). Inside this action function models are being used for data manipulation and that is assigned to a view for display.

For the views I use a self made template system that can replace tags and supports nested blocks.

The basics of MVC are not really a problem, there are enough examples on the internet to be found (including the wiki of phpfreaks.com).

But my question is about the complete presentationlayer: the whole template where the view generated by the action function is being put into.

The template that wraps everything has logic of it's own like building a navigation with extra buttons depending on if the user is logged in or not.

Where to put this code? and how will it fit into the MVC pattern?

One way that pops in my mind is making a base class for all controllers.

Then subclass the base controller with common functions for layout logic.

Then subclass that controller to re-use the functions.

This way i can create a heirarchie for different layouts in the website.

I would really like to hear your thoughts about this design problem. Any help is welcome!