populate a text box from drop down.

vinaysnarayan

Hi,

I'm new to php, but however, I can manage small changes.

I've a small html/java script. I want to achieve the same through php.

Please help, how can I do this.

create a new html file, copy the below script, save the file and run it in a browser. I want to get the same results using a php file. Please help me how to do this. Thanks in advance.

Note: The below code outputs data on a textarea box. However, is it possible to get the output on a texbox instead of a textarea box?

<script type="text/javascript">

function addItem(itemValue,outputDestination){

formElement = document.forms['myForm'].elements[outputDestination]

tempVar = formElement.value

if (tempVar.lastIndexOf("\n") != tempVar.length-1){

}

formElement.value = itemValue;

}

</script>

<form name="myForm" id="myForm">

<select onchange="addItem(this.value,'textOutput2')">

<option value="A1">A1</option>

<option value="A2">A2</option>

<option value="A3">A3</option>

<option value="B1">B1</option>

<option value="B2">B2</option>

<option value="B3">B3</option>

<option value="C1">C1</option>

<option value="C2">C2</option>

<option value="C3">C3</option>

</select>

<textarea style="displaynone;" name="textOutput2" cols="10" rows="1"></textarea>

<br />

</form>

Regards,

Vinay

No...I mean...PHP is server side. It cannot be done through php. That's probably why it's written in Javascript.

You could do something like if you select an item and submit the form, PHP can do something like this:

<?php
echo '<form action="" method="post">
<select name="select">
<option>value1</option>
<option>value2</option>
</select>';
$select= $_POST['select'];
echo '<input type="text" name="something" value="'.$select.'" />
<input type="submit" />
</form>';
?>

Try it out and you'll see what I mean. But javascript is much more suited to the task. Why do you want to change it anyway?

Ok. Let me give you more details what I want to do.