Sorting Database columns using codeigniter

jason97673

So I am new to useing codeigniter and there isnt as much documentation on this as there is just plain PHP without a framework.

Well I am making a simple site (for now) that has many fields and is grabbing the records from a database. I want to be able to click on the column headers and sort them. I want to beable to have them be clicked and have it sorted DESC or ASC.

Using regular PHP I can do this but not using the codeigniter framework. Ill show you the site. http://sykotic-designz.org

When you visit the site it is a simple table with many fields and for now only 2 records. I want to beable to click name and have it sort from A-Z(then if possible have it sort the opposite direction if clicked again). Or if you click CMP, ATT, CMP % etc, have those sorted from higher to lower(then the opposite direction if possible when clicked again).

My code right now in the view is

<table border="1">
<tr>
    	<td>Name</td><td>CMP</td><td>ATT</td><td>PCT</td><td>YDS</td><td>YPA</td><td>TDs</td><td>TD%</td><td>INTs</td><td>INT%</td><td>RAT</td>
    </tr>
<? foreach($query->result() as $row): ?>

<tr>
	<td><?=$row->lastname?>, <?=$row->firstname?></td><td><?=$row->cmp?></td><td><?=$row->att?></td><td><?=$row->cmppct?>%</td>
        <td><?=$row->yds?></td><td><?=$row->ypa?></td><td><?=$row->td?></td><td><?=$row->tdpct?>%</td><td><?=$row->ints?></td><td><?=$row->intpct?>%</td><td><?=$row->rating?></td>
    </tr>

<? endforeach; ?>

The code in the controller is

class FirstDown extends Controller {

function FirstDown()
{
	parent::Controller();
}

function index()
{
	$data['title'] = "First Down Statistics";
	$this->db->orderby("lastname", "asc");
	$data['query'] = $this->db->get('firstdown');
	$this->load->view('firstdown', $data);
}
}

Thanks for any help.

hey bud. I'm a little new to codeigniter as well, but I'm very familiar with PHP, so I was able to sort of understand the common tasks quickly.