I'm new to this.. need help

N-Bomb(Nerd)

Hello, I'm trying to index links on a website using a php script of mine however I'm completely lost as how to do this. I've never used Regex really before so it's not even like I know where to start really.

The whole source of the website is already in a string, and I know the all of the links inside the source look like this:

<a href="lyrics.php?id=4809">Artist Name</a>

The number after ?id= is always going to be random, as well as the "Artist Name".

<a href="lyrics.php?id=*">*</a>

Above: * = Random/Unknown

The page has hundreds of links like this, and I'm trying to get them into an array to process into a database.

Even if we're able to figure out how to extract all of these from the string, how am I able to keep the Id and Artist Name together so I can add them to a database?

Untested...

$source = __something__;

preg_match_all('/<a href="lyrics\.php\?id=([\d]+)">([\w\s"\'-]+)<\/a>/i', $source, $link_matches);

foreach ($link_matches as $key => $match)
{
    $links[] = array(
        'id' => $match[1],
        'title' => $match[2],
    );
}

By the way that will find link's with obscure names like.. "Artist's"_-_Name - though I doubt there is any!

In the first capture, you don't really need to surround the \d in a character class, as \d is actually a short hand character class...

That second capture could be simplified by using [^<]+ (as names don't have < in them, this will capture pretty much anything in between > and <).

Also untested...

preg_match_all('/<a href="lyrics\.php\?id=(\d+)">([^<]+)<\/a>/i', $source, $link_matches);

I know this may seem a bit noob, but again I've never really dealt with arrays, more specifically an array like this.

How would I access the "$links" part of the array? I'm guessing you would have to do something like:

foreach ($links as $xxx => $xxxx) {
    xxxxx;
    xxxxx;

checkIfExists($id, $title);
}