How do I use Buttons?

Pete C

Have patience - I'm totally new to PHP. As part of my self-learning I want to know how to use buttons to fire events (click event in this case).

My question: I have created a PHP script using MS Expression and the script successfully opens an MSSQL database and displays records from a table in that database.

I would now like to place the code that achieves the above in a function (I think I'm ok with doing that) and I also want to put a button on my PHP page which calls that function.

I have tried to place an Expression button on the php page but get an error when I run it (I guess I'm mixing html and php).

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks Ken, some explanation of how to submit a form from a button and have a PHP script call the function would be most appreciated, or perhaps a link which offers such an explanation.

Thanks

Pete C

Thanks Ken.

I have implemented as below but upon running default.html I get a 'downloading' dialog briefly and then a blank page ..

This is the php page:

<?php

function firstfunction()

{

$myServer = "ACE-MACHINE";

$myUser = "pete";

$myPass = "pete";

$myDB = "assignment_tracking";

$result = "";

$dbhandle = "";

$selected = "";

$query = "";

$numRows = "";

$row = "";

//connection to the database

$dbhandle = mssql_connect($myServer, $myUser, $myPass)

or die("Couldn't connect to SQL Server on $myServer");

//select a database to work with

$selected = mssql_select_db($myDB, $dbhandle)

or die("Couldn't open database $myDB");

//declare the SQL statement that will query the database

$query = "SELECT tutorid, tutorname, salary ";

$query .= "FROM dbo.tutor ";

//execute the SQL query and return records

$result = mssql_query($query);

$numRows = mssql_num_rows($result);

echo "<h1>" . $numRows . " Row" . ($numRows == 1 ? "" : "s") . " Returned </h1>";

//display the results

while($row = mssql_fetch_array($result))