change background of a <tr>

SetToLoki

Hi I am very new to javascritp and just playing around with a few things. I am looking for a way to change the background style of a table row element

I have a table that is dynamically created using PHP at the end of each row inside a <td> in the table one per row there is an image. When this image is clicked I would like the background colour of the entire row that image is on to change to #CCC

also if another image is clicked in the table I want to revert the background colour of the previous row back to blank and select the new row.

A sort of highlight per row that you select. only being able to select one row at a time.

thanks in advance for any help.

Edit:

if it is not too much more code though I have a feeling it is some <td>'s in the row I want selected might be empty if this is the case I wouldn't like the background of that td to change, or change the <tr> background and change empty <td>'s to the table backgrounds colour.

But as I said this isn't really that important as I imagine it is more than a couple of lines of code extra

I usually just give hints and not finished code, but I was kind of curious as to how to do this my self....  This is the most elegant thing I could think of:

<html>

<head>
<title>Color Changer</title>

<script language="javascript">
<!--
	function ChangeColor(elem) {
		var theTr = elem.parentNode.parentNode;
		var allTrs = theTr.parentNode.childNodes;
		for(var i = 0; i < allTrs.length; ++i) {
			allTrs[i].bgColor = "";
		}
		theTr.bgColor = "red";
	}
//-->
</script>

</head>

<body>

<table>
	<tr>
		<td>
			<div style="border-width: 5px; border-color: black; border-style: solid; width: 100px; height: 100px;" onclick="ChangeColor(this);">
				Click this.
			</div>
		</td>
	</tr>

<tr>
		<td>
			<div style="border-width: 5px; border-color: black; border-style: solid; width: 100px; height: 100px;" onclick="ChangeColor(this);">
				Click this.
			</div>
		</td>
	</tr>
</table>

</body>