Why Postgres?

artacus

Postgres, the "other" open-source database. If you're like me, when you started learning PHP, the books and tutorials all covered PHP and MySQL web development. And that is what you learned and what you stuck with. And because you ran in the open-source crowd, you've heard your friends ranting about  Postgres and how great it was. But MySQL seemed to do everything you needed reasonably well, so why bother?

I'm a professional Oracle developer and I've worked on over a dozen DBMS's over the last 15 years. But hands down, Postgres is my favorite to work with. Now there are a lot of good databases out there. Oracle can do almost anything under the sun. MySQL always impressed me with its speed. MS SQL, well, that one I just hate. Sorry, but everything on SQL Server is harder than it needs to be and at the end of the day, I just feel "dirty".

So what makes Postgres so special, even beating out Oracle and MySQL? Postgres is just fun to work with. I originally started using Postgres a few years ago when 8.3 was released. We needed a database that could understand XML and our client couldn't afford Oracle (who can?).  We were  able to take our Oracle expertise and directly apply it to Postgres. In fact Oracle and Postgres are probably the closest of any two databases out there.

• It has transactions uses MVCC to manage concurrency instead of locking
  • a powerful procedural language with a syntax similar to Oracle and DB2's
  • the option to add other procedural languages like PHP, Python, Java and Ruby
  • XML support
  • spacial and temporal extensions
  • an extensible type system
  • fast, performs as well as mysql with the innodb engine
  • probably the most standards compliant database out there

And to that impressive list, version 8.4 released this week adds Common Table Expressions including recursive, and analytic functions along with several hundred new features.