Two MySQL Function

bundyxc

So I've been working on this function to submit queries on my site. In theory, you set the type of query (select/insert/etc.), and then the query. From there, it takes the data and creates an array.

So in theory, instead of having to do:

<?php
$select1 = "INSERT INTO  users (true) VALUES (1)";
$select1result= mysql_query($select,$con) or die(mysql_error().": ".$select1);
$select1numrows = mysql_num_rows($select1result);
$select1fetcharray = mysql_fetch_array($select1result);

$select2 = "SELECT * FROM users WHERE true=1";
$select2result= mysql_query($select,$con) or die(mysql_error().": ".$select2);
$select2numrows = mysql_num_rows($select2result);
$select2fetcharray = mysql_fetch_array($select2result);
?>

You would just do

<?php
pure_query('insert', 'INSERT INTO  users (true) VALUES (1)');
pure_query('select', 'SELECT * FROM users WHERE true=1');
?>

Are there any huges holes in my logic? This just sounds 100 times easier to me. I'm a PHP noob, but it sounded like a shortcut. Any better way to do this, or to write my function? Function included below..

<?php
function pure_query($type, $query)
{
global $con; // Establish what connection the function should be using to run the query.

if ( $type == 'SELECT' || $type == 'SHOW' || $type == 'DESCRIBE' || $type == 'EXPLAIN')
{

$go = mysql_query($query,$con) die (mysql_error() . ": " . $query); // Run the query, or echo the error.
$fetch = mysql_fetch_array($go);                                    // Take the output and create array $var[]
$num = mysql_num_rows($go);                                         // Count the number of affected rows.

$array = array
	(
		'query' => $query, // $var['query'] returns the query.
		'num' => $num,     // $var['num'] returns the number of affected rows.
		'fetch' => $fetch  // $var['fetch'] returns the results of the query.
        ); 

}

$return = $array;
return $return;