array from database problem

batearedfox

Hi

I'm having trouble with the code below, this works fine for an array that I've defined but if I grab the array from a database (will print_r() with no trouble) nothing is returned.

I'm new to building my own php so this is probably something obvious but after 2 hours googling I just can't seem to spot what might be going wrong.

Thanks for any help.

Tom :)

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM final WHERE `0` = '0'")
  or die(mysql_error()); 
$row = mysql_fetch_assoc($query );

while ($new = current($row)) {

echo key($new).'<br />';

next($row);
}

Also, the logic in your while loop will not work. Not sure what you are trying to accomplish. Added comments to your code to explain why you aren't getting any results.

//Assigns the VALUE of the current element in the array
while ($new = current($row))
{
    //key() will attempt to return the KEY of the current element of the array
    //However, $new is the extracted VALUE, so key() will return nothing in this instance
    echo key($new).'<br />';
    next($row);
}

Hi, thanks for your responses :)

I meant to put $row rather than $new in echo key()

I'm trying to get the key of the values from a row if they aren't equal to a string eg 'sample', I'm basing this on the code at the bottom which came from the example on php.net for key, just dropped the if statement to see if that was causing any problems.

//Assigns the VALUE of the current element in the array
while ($new = current($row))
{
    //key() will attempt to return the KEY of the current element of the array
    //However, $new is the extracted VALUE, so key() will return nothing in this instance
    echo key($row).'<br />';
    next($row);
}

Code I'm basing this on:-

$array = array(
    'fruit1' => 'apple',
    'fruit2' => 'orange',
    'fruit3' => 'grape',
    'fruit4' => 'apple',
    'fruit5' => 'apple');

// this cycle echoes all associative array
// key where value equals "apple"