drkstr
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 66 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA - USA

Posted 12 August 2006 - 10:42 PM

Hello!

I apologize if my question might seem a bit basic. I am about a day and half into learning how to do all this web development stuff, so I am a newbie to the 10th power. Luckly, I do have a little bit of a background in programming so I am not completly lost. :)

Here is what I am trying to do:
I need to direct the user to another php script but keep the same sate of my "user" object.

Here is what I've tried: (psuedo code)
$currentUser = new User();  
# <snipped out irelevent code>
$query = urlencode( serialize($currentUser) );
header( "Location:index.php?user=$query" );

now it will forward to index.php just fine, and I see the serialized url version of my object in the title bar, but I'm not sure how to grab it from the url.

I've tried both $_GET['user'] and $_SERVER['QUERY_STRING'] to retrieve the data, but they return empty strings. I have not been able to find the answer in my PHP book, google, or in RFC 2616.  Part of the problem is I don't really know what to look for. Can any one point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!
...aaron

#2 onlyican

onlyican
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 921 posts
  • LocationHants - UK

Posted 12 August 2006 - 10:57 PM

when this goes to a new page
does the index.php
have the full information in the url
www.example.com/index.php?user=onlyican
For example
Tell me the problem, I will try tell you the solution

#3 drkstr

drkstr
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 66 posts

Posted 12 August 2006 - 11:03 PM

Thanks for the quick reply!

It appears that it does. I'm not positave though since a serialized object is so cryptic. Here is the text in the url bar after the forward: